top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAllysia

Unearthened path: Weddings


One of the most surprising and unexpected things that happened to me in my whole stay at Indonesia was that I was able to attend a Muslim wedding not only once, but twice! To add to the thrill, I was also given the chance to wear traditional costume and actually felt cantik in it.


The first wedding we attended was at Swiss-Belhotel Kendari wherein we attended the wedding of the relative of our Mama Nini. Not aware that we were going to a wedding, I was actually underdressed for the occassion but nonetheless, I was at awe with the grandeur of the wedding and the unique practices that goes with it given that it was my first time to witness a Muslim wedding. I tried my best to be observant and asked questions as to what was going on given that I cannot understand. Luckily, Mr. Mustamin's daughters were very generous in explaining with what is going on and so I was able to appreciate the event more. It was notable that the groom-to-be is being "tested" without the presence of the bride-to-be for she is given time alone to contemplate. After the "test", the groom then goes to pick up his bride and walks together with the gifts given to the girl. I was also at awe with the dancers performing as if they are showering the couple for abundance.


As for our second wedding, we attended it at Zahra Hotel Kendari to which I was not able to attend the rites but was there during the reception. This was the time when I was able to dress up traditional Indonesian clothes and felt very pretty with it. I was at awe with the number of people present and of course enjoyed my favorite mie pangsit bakso at the reception.


It is notable that when attending weddings, you see something that is patterned in culture and tradition and so I felt very honored to be given the chance to witness such. Given the privilege, it also essential to be observant in order to be respectful. I observed how greetings are done and that some people need not to have a handshake with for it goes with their belief not to have direct contact with the opposite gender. Truly, it was a wonderful learning experience for me.



3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Jl. Filos

my saving glories

bottom of page